"Learning Development By Doing" is there anything better?

I recently had a long discussion with a group of developers some who were trained more formally in school programs and some who just joined the open source world out of pure curiosity and persistence. I wonder what @karl’s background is? Anyway I thought this would be an interesting topic for discussion, for example:

• How many of you attended school for computer science or programming/ How many self taught?

• What’s your preferred way of learning?

In my opinion the Crypto Space seems to have a bottleneck at the entry point, as there are very few programs or courses available due to the constantly shifting focus and rapid growth of the industry. People are uncertain where to get started or how to get involved with these new projects.

• Do you see this a good thing or bad thing for mass adoption?

• Is the exclusivity of crypto keeping people from getting involved?

Lastly I found these hackathons that I believe are doing a solid job, not just providing prize money, but creating educational resources for teams/individuals to learn while they build.

The Social Coding Blockternship, submit a project by August 7! more info here

#Cryptolife with Status in Prague, Oct 26–28 more info here

*There were more, but I’m only allowed 2 links as a new user :confused:

When I studied my BBA, including computer and programming related, I was doing diploma work with my schoolfriend. There was a some device without manual, so my schoolfriend tried every possible way of configuring device, did get it working, and documented how to get it working.