Concise Research Topics

Hi cryptoeconomics people!

Here’s the question. I’m going back to school and have the opportunity to do economics research for a class. Are there any pieces of problems which could be bitten off by a novice researcher in about 10 weeks?

I was at CESC and there were talks about the decentralized oracle problem, but it’s hard to find a concise question to answer. Though probably being a good researcher involves asking a good question as much as answering it no?

Any advice is appreciated.

Much love.

Hmmmm well I’m not an expert but from what I know the decentralized oracle problem is Hard (with a capital H). Auger and similar crowd sourced intelligence/sentiment platforms are addressing this for various use cases.

That being said, if you’re doing purely economics research I’d say that incentive alignment in positive sum games would be a great place to start. Arguably, the superpower of blockchains is that they incentivize people to do stuff, but in a way where everyone pursues their individual interests. This creates positive sum games without altruism or the need for trust beyond trusting that people are selfish and economically motivated. This ties into blockchains and cryptoeconomics directly because for this to work:

• the economic rewards/punishments need to be salient for people to actually want them and work for them
  • the enforcement and verification of following the protocol (and thus receiving said rewards/punishments) needs to be unquestionable.
    This is why it works so well in blockchains (but less so in meatspace) where the protocol is written cryptographic code which can be checked rather than trusting people’s promises. Blockchains aren’t “trustless”, but they compress trust in the small game (blockchain protocol) to just the code. Of course there’s always factors and incentives outside of the protocol that can influence on and off chain behavior, but getting the cryptoeconomics of the protocols right is a good start.